Lace & Drape

Standard

This is a lace variation on the 2-hour summer dress. I went with a nice royal blue color and its matching color lace:

Unfortunately, the lace variation takes a little longer than 2-hours.. First I finished the top edge of the satin fabric with a 3mm rolled hem. Then I attached the lace on top of that. I finished the neck and the armhole with bias tape. Afterwards, I put the dress together using a French seam so that I didn’t have to worry about all the unravelling of the fabric. At the very end, I finished the bottom hem with a 5/8″ rolled hem. It is a little more work than working with stretch cotton, but I think it was worth it!

Also, I would like to mention how amazing it is to have sashes in different colors! I put this sash I made for this dress on the last dress I made, and it gives the dress a completely different impression <3:

 

For the next week, I’m going to start working on a couple of projects I have going for my friends whose birthdays are coming up. I still haven’t decided on what to do with one of my friends’ dress design, but I guess I’ll figure that out eventually 😉

 

Till next time!

-S

2 responses »

Leave a comment