Roasted Zucchini Mediterranean Barley Salad

Standard

I’ve been gone from my blog for about 6 months, but I never stopped sewing! I decided that it was about time I got back on here to document my life again.

In the last 6 months, I’ve been working hard like all the other third year medical students out there doing my rotations. I also trained for a half marathon and ran it last weekend! Now that the majority of the year is over, and I’m approaching that phase where I chose what I want to do with my career, I can proudly say that I will become a Pediatrician! 🙂

I have another board exam coming up in three months and all the fun of applying for residency waiting for me. In keeping up with maintaining a high energy level throughout the process, eating healthy sounds like a crucial habit I should continue to follow. That being said, I would like to introduce you to this barley salad filled with Mediterranean flavor!

photo-12

Roasted Zucchini Mediterranean Barley Salad

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c          Pearled Barley
  • 1                  Zucchini
  • 1/2 c           Curly Parsley
  • 1/2              Bell Pepper (Green, Yellow or Red)
  • 8 pieces     Kalamata Olives
  • 4 pieces     Sun dried tomatoes that comes dried in a bag (can also use the ones in oil)
  • 1/4 c           Crumbled feta cheese (optional)
  • 2 tbsp         Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp         Fig balsamic vinegar (I got mine from the bulk section at Whole Foods)
  • 2 tbsp         Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 tsp            Honey
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning

Instructions:

  1. Heat up the oven to 425F
  2. Boil hot water in a pot with some salt and bring to a boil. Throw in the barley and cook until tender, about 20-30 minutes
  3. Chop up the zucchini in about 1/2″ pieces and toss in 1 tbsp of olive oil not listed above. Place in a pan lined with parchment paper and bake for about 20 minutes
  4. Make the dressing: Minced up the sun-dried tomatoes and place in a small bowl. Add vinegar, honey, and the olive oil to the bowl. Season with salt and pepper, and set aside.
  5. Mince up the parsley, and dice the bell pepper and olives.
  6. Once the roasted zucchini and barley is done cooking, combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss with the dressing.
  7. If you are using crumbled feta, add them in here, at the end

A simple and refreshing side that goes well with any protein of choice. I decided to leave the cheese out, since I wasn’t really feeling it today, and I didn’t think it was lacking. Time to go enjoy my spring break 😉

Happy cooking!

-S

Leave a comment